Appendix: Glossary, Notable Characters and Production Staff

Glossary

Classic Who	Refers to all <i>Doctor Who</i> episodes originally broadcast between 1963 and 1989.	
Cybermen	Alien race, enemies of the Doctor.	
Daleks	Alien race, enemies of the Doctor.	
Gallifrey	Home planet of the Time Lords.	
Master / Missy	A fellow Time Lord and arch-enemy of the Doctor. For incarnations, see notable characters.	
New Who	Refers to all Doctor Who episodes originally broadcast since 2005.	
Sonic screwdriver	The Doctor's only 'weapon', introduced in 1962, used heavily by the Third and Fourth Doctor, the Fifth's Doctor's is destroyed and he does not replace it. The screwdriver was re-introduced in 2005. It can open doors, fix things and has changing special features (e.g. scanning and classifying matter and (alien) life forms, medical scans and blood tests).	
Silurians	Alien race with whom the humans repeatedly clash because both races consider the Earth 'their' planet; the Doctor and their companions usually try to broker peace between humans and Silurians.	
Sontarans	Alien race, enemies of the Doctor, with the exception of his friend Strax.	
TARDIS	Acronym for "Time and Relative Dimension in Space" – the Doctor's spaceship, a blue police box that is bigger on the inside.	
Time Vortex	The dimension where space and time meet and where travellers pass through to specific points in time and space.	
UNIT	A fictional military organization that investigates and, if necessary, fights alien invasions and other paranormal threats to Earth. When first introduced, UNIT was an acronym for "United Nations Intelligence Taskforce". In the new series, the name was changed to "United Intelligence Taskforce" but the acronym remained.	

Character	Actors	<i>Tenure</i> ¹
The Doctors		
First Doctor	William Hartnell	1963–1966
Second Doctor	Patrick Troughton	1966–1969
Third Doctor	Jon Pertwee	1970–1974
Fourth Doctor	Tom Baker	1974–1981
Fifth Doctor	Peter Davison	1982–1984
Sixth Doctor	Colin Baker	1984–1986
Seventh Doctor	Sylvester McCoy	1987–1989
Eighth Doctor	Paul McGann	1996
Ninth Doctor	Christopher Eccleston	2005
Tenth Doctor	David Tennant	2005-2010
Eleventh Doctor	Matt Smith	2010-2013
Twelfth Doctor	Peter Capaldi	2014–2017
Thirteenth Doctor	Jodie Whittaker	2018 -
Notable Companions		
Barbara Wright	Jacqueline Hill	1963–1965
Ian Chesterton	William Russell	1963–1965
Susan Foreman	Carole Ann Ford	1963–1964
Vicki Pallister	Maureen O'Brien	1965
Polly Wright	Anneke Wills	1966–1967
Zoe Heriot	Wendy Padbury	1968–1969
Liz Shaw	Caroline John	1970
Jo Grant	Katy Manning	1971–1973
Sarah Jane Smith	Elisabeth Sladen	1973–1976, 2005
Leela	Louise Jameson	1977–1978
Romana I	Mary Tamm	1978–1979
Romana II	Lalla Ward	1979–1981
Tegan Jovanka	Janet Fielding	1981–1984
Peri Brown	Nicola Bryant	1984–1986
Mel Bush	Bonnie Langford	1986–1987
Ace	Sophie Aldred	1987–1989
Rose Tyler	Billie Piper	2005-2006
Captain Jack Harkness	John Barrowman	2005
Mickey Smith	Noel Clarke	2005–2006
Donna Noble	Catherine Tate	2006–2008
Martha Jones	Freema Agyeman	2007
Amy Pond	Karen Gillan	2010–2012
Rory Williams	Arthur Darvill	2010-2012

¹ All dates refer to the characters' time as regulars on the programme, excluding later guest appearances.

Character	Actors	Tenure ¹
Notable Companions		
River Song	Alex Kingston	2010–2012
Clara Oswald	Jenna Coleman	2012–2015
Bill Potts	Pearl Mackie	2017
Graham O'Brien	Bradley Walsh	2018 -
Yasmin "Yaz" Khan	Mandip Gill	2018 -
Ryan Sinclair	Tosin Cole	2018 -
Notable Incarnations of the Ma	ster / Missy	
The Master	Roger Delgado	1971–1973
The Master	Anthony Ainley	1981–1989
Harold Saxon / The Master	John Simm	2007–2010
Missy	Michelle Gomez	2013–2017
Agent O / The Master	Sacha Dhawan	2020 -
Notable Production Sta	aff Tenure	Notes
Executive Producers / Showrun	ners ²	
Verity Lambert	1963–1965	
John Wiles	1965–1966	
Innes Lloyd	1966–1968	
Peter Bryant	1967–1969	
Darrick Sherwin	1969–1970	
Barry Letts	1970–1975	Returned as the programme's 'executive producer' during John Nathan-Turners first series 1980– 1981.
Philip Hinchcliffe	1975–1977	
Graham Williams	1977–1980	
John Nathan-Turner	1980–1989	
Russell T Davies	2005-2010	In the new series, the showrunners
Steven Moffat Chris Chibnall	2010–2017 2018 –	are also 'head writers', contributing scripts of many episodes themselves (Davies 32 episodes, Moffat 48, Chibnall 19 and counting).

² The job descriptions of production staff have changed over the years. The list of executive producers/showrunners contains those individuals who were responsible for the creation of the programme, even though through 'Classic *Who*', they were simply credited as 'producers'.

Notable Production Staff	Tenure	Notes
Notable Writers		
Terry Nation	1963–1979	Invented the Daleks
David Whitaker	1964–1970	First script editor of the programme
Malcolm Hulke	1967–1974	
Terrance Dicks	1969–1983	Dicks was one of the prominent writers during the 1970s and script editor during Barry Lett's years as producer (1970–1974). He named Gallifrey and invented the term 'regeneration.'
Robert Holmes	1968–1986	Holmes wrote many prolific episodes of the classic series and also served as a script editor. Together with producer Philip Hinchcliffe, Holmes impacted the programme during its 'golden era' in the 1970s. Russell T Davies said in an interview in 2007 that "when the history of television drama comes to be written, Robert Holmes won't be remembered at all because he only wrote genre stuff" and called this "a real tragedy" (Johnson: Master of the Universe).
Mark Gatiss Malorie Blackman	2005–2017 2018	First PoC to write a <i>Doctor Who</i>
		episode ("Rosa")